Locking one or multiple objects from your template means preserving the original idea behind your design. Locked images and objects will retain their original position and size, and in the case of text, the only editable aspect will be the content within. Font style, size and format will remain the same, with only you, the creator of the template, being able to change them.
Why is locking your work important? Let’s say you just completed a design and want to save it as a template. You know that positioning your elements in the right way is crucial for a crisp and appealing display. Or maybe as a business, it would make sense to maintain brand consistency throughout your design.
With our locking option, we offer you the control you need to freeze your template's design layout. With the example below in mind, let's take a look at how to do this:
How does locking work?
If you want to lock a certain element, simply select it and click on the locking button, in the top right corner, as shown in the picture below. By doing this, you just froze your object. It cannot be moved, deleted, or edited.
If your layout has more objects, don’t worry. You don’t have to lock each of them individually. In your layer section, just hold CTRL or CMD and simply click on each object you wish to select.
After you’re done selecting your objects, simply click the lock button as shown above.
Saving your template
After you’re finished with your design and all the objects are properly locked, the last thing to do is to save your work.
Under File, in the top left corner, select Save as template.
After selecting Save as template, a pop-up will automatically appear, asking if you wish to have full control over your locked elements.
By choosing not to tick the option highlighted above, you let people accessing your template to operate with changes in its design. They will be allowed to move the objects or delete them.
By selecting the same option, you have that control we talked about. Your locked objects will remain permanently locked. No one, apart from you, the creator of the template, will be able to make changes in this regard.
To avoid confusion, selecting this option does not mean that there is no room left to edit. Objects remaining locked means nobody apart from you can delete them, that they will stay in the same position and hold their original formatting.
If a text box, for example, is locked, it will no longer have the option to be moved or have its font changed in terms of size, style and format. What can be changed is strictly the content within.
Looking at images too, locking them means they will maintain the position and size you intended.
Locking basically means setting up a design structure you wish to maintain. If you want anyone using your template to associate this design with you and, more importantly, maintain brand consistency throughout, then make sure to check this option out.