For those who are new to Flipsnack, some of the words we use to describe features might be a tad confusing. This article will clear out some of that confusion, as we are going to explain some of the labels that we associate with the status of a flipbook.
1. Unlisted publications
This is a feature available only to premium users. It means that your flipbooks won’t be indexed by any search engines (Google, Bing, etc.) and they won’t show on your profile. The only way someone will be able to access your catalog is if they get the link from someone else.
If you want to use this option, please make sure that before you hit the Publish button, you select Unlisted as your Visibility option.
It’s important for you to know that you have to make your publication “Unlisted” from the very beginning.
Important: Always check your unpublished version out thoroughly, before deciding to publish.
You won’t be able to change your flipbook from “Public” to “Unlisted” after the flipbook is public. That’s why make sure you take a moment to check the final unpublished version out before pressing the Publish button.
However, in Flipsnack you can find lots of other visibility options, and you're encouraged to check them out.
After you finish editing and after you select the visibility setting for your flipbook, you can hit Publish.
3. Not published
If you decide not to publish, or simply close the browser tab before you publish, you will still find your unpublished flipbook saved in your account, but no one else will be able to view it. Those flipbooks are labeled Not published.
After you publish a flipbook, you can still edit it anytime you want. You will just have to publish the newly edited version if you want these changes to be visible in the published version.
However, you can also make some changes in your flipbook and then decide not to publish them right away. Your flipbooks can remain unpublished until you are perfectly comfortable with your final result.
4. Draft publications
Flipsnack offers an auto-saving feature which means if you make changes to your flipbook and do not publish them you will not lose them. The "live" version of your flipbook will not show any of those changes, but they are saved in your account, should you decide you want to publish them at a later time. These edited, unpublished versions are labeled as Draft in Flipsnack.